RSS Feed

For Sage

For Sage

No one knew her history.

No one knew her name.

She was old and whiskery,

yet no one for her, came.

*

The kitty was on discount.

We saw her through the bars,

so frail, and of small account,

but eyes like forming stars.

*

We brought her home that same night,

already so in love.

We learned she had little sight,

or much health to speak of.

*

She was sassy for her age.

She was bossy as hell.

She was full of fire,  our Sage

with her old lady smell.

*

At night, whiskers in my ear

or a weight on my chest,

letting me know she was near

‘fore going to her rest.

*

With each and every morning

came her yowl at the door.

“You’ll be late,” she was warning,

“And my food, I need more!”

*

From the beginning we knew

our time would be too brief.

Each moment with Sage flew,

turns out, time is a thief.

*

Just because I know it’s right

doesn’t make it simple.

You’ve given all to this fight,

it’s time, I’ve your signal.

*

Now, Sage, I’m putting off sleep,

it’s my last night with you.

There is naught to do but weep,

my heart is broke in two.

*

So Sage,  here is my goodbye.

This is my love letter,

my vow, my last lullaby-

I’ll love you forever.

About jaynejackson

I write, because if I didn't, my head would simply become too clogged with ideas and thoughts to function. I'm a bit quirky and in real life I tend to be quite blunt. Most of my writing tends to end up semi dark, but sometimes you can't really control where the story/poem takes you. I write for myself, but I sincerely hope that you'll find some enjoyment in my writing as well.

Leave a Reply

